Couple of questions about Dolly

Anything goes! Cheap or expensive, FDM or SLA, DIY or Commercial.
JonJahaerysSnow

Couple of questions about Dolly

Post by JonJahaerysSnow » Wed Aug 16, 2017 7:11 am

Hey guys, I'm John. I'm new to 3d printing, but I have a background in programming and a little electronics. I have a Tarantula (I know) and while I've enjoyed and learned tons from assembling it, I don't really feel it as mine. So I'm ready for the next step and I'm looking to build my own printer from scratch. I'm still trying to decide between a couple of printers, but I'll most likely end up building a Dolly. But before I embark in the adventure, I would like to ask a couple of questions if you guys don't mind.
  • In the part list for Dolly, it lists 1m of M5 threaded rod. However, unlike the other rods, this one doesn't say how long my cuts should be. Does anyone know?
  • I am biased towards chinese brass nuts (not linked because that would look like spam). If I print a different set of X ends, will I still be able to do the build? I REALLY don't want to drill on my printed pieces to fit a nut.
  • I'm really interested in a mk42 clone. Is the 9 point bed calibration process exclusive to genuine Prusas or is that something I can achieve on an everyday RAMPS setup?
  • While I'm planning to salvage some parts from the Tarantula (steppers, genuine e3dv6, mks board), my spreadsheet tells me that most of my budget will be spent on screws. Like having to get a 50 pack of screws when I only need 5. Aliexpress is generally cheap, but the screws are starting to add up to a little too much. Is there a cheaper way to source them?
  • More like a forum suggestion, but there should be a subforum dedicated to Dolly.
Thanks a lot everyone!
Last edited by JonJahaerysSnow on Fri Aug 18, 2017 4:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

slippyr4

Re: Couple of questions about Dolly

Post by slippyr4 » Thu Aug 17, 2017 9:05 am