Relationship between nozzle size, layer/nozzle height, print quality, print speed

Anything goes! Cheap or expensive, FDM or SLA, DIY or Commercial.
ido

Relationship between nozzle size, layer/nozzle height, print quality, print speed

Post by ido » Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:07 pm

Hi,

I must admit, I am new to 3d printing, but you probably got that from reading the topic title. Been reading and watching youtube's for several weeks now, and I recently build my prusa mk2s printer, even got a few good prints from it.

I am however still learning about all the various print settings and I cant get my head around the relationship between nozzle size, nozzle height, layer height, print quality and print speed.

I understand there's X/Y resolution and Z resolution (= layer height)
If slicer applications talk about 200 or 100 microns, this is layer height, right? So what defines the X/Y resolution?

And nozzle size, 0.4 is commonly used, but you can print higher resolutions with a 0.4 nozzle, how does that work?

And if you use a print quality of 200 micron, does this mean the height and the x&y is 200 micron? And the ideal nozzle height (from the bed) would be 200 micron?

And print speed, I can imagine the faster you go, the thinner the plastic coming from the extruder? Or is thickness + speed something the printer takes care off?

I hope Tom will do a video on this :) Or perhaps he already did, couldn't find it though. Or if someone else on the forum can enlighten me, that would also make my day :)

Ido

lowfat

Re: Relationship between nozzle size, layer/nozzle height, print quality, print speed

Post by lowfat » Thu Jul 13, 2017 10:31 pm