TOM's i3 Dolly Prusa - pre build question

Anything goes! Cheap or expensive, FDM or SLA, DIY or Commercial.
Uriel

TOM's i3 Dolly Prusa - pre build question

Post by Uriel » Tue Sep 26, 2017 3:31 pm

Hello all,

i am totally new to the 3d printing world,but i am totally addict of building stuff on my own.
that is why the guide for the MK2 clone making my fingers go nuts :D

but i wanted to ask a few question before i am approving my huge shopping list in aliexpress.

1)rods- "8mm smooth rods, 320m, 330 or 350mm, 370mm"
what will be the difference between the sets?how it effect the build?

2)3d parts.
i saw few modification,is is possible to buy MK2 set so i can have a basic build and print the rest?
or that it wont work without the modified and i will have to search for 3d printing services?
and if so, what is the parts i will need to print?(there are 3 places where the 3d parts are mentioned and i got confused)

3) what will be downfall of this clone?
will it be able to print the same materiel as the real MK2 ?

Thanks in advance .

chumm

Re: TOM's i3 Dolly Prusa - pre build question

Post by chumm » Sat Sep 30, 2017 3:15 am

Hi Uriel, sorry for the late response.

1. The old i3 kits used 320mmx2, 350mmx2, and 370mmx2 rods, so this is easier to find as a single kit online. The MK2 replaces the 350mm with 330mm rods. Tom modified the Y rod holders to account for this, leaving an open end to let the extra rod length hang off. If you get 330mm it will fit perfectly with the unmodified parts.