Prusa i3 Clone Bed Leveling Issue

Where it began and what we all love most
SMatthews95

Prusa i3 Clone Bed Leveling Issue

Post by SMatthews95 » Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:31 am

I am relatively new to 3D printing. I've used them for projects at my university, but I came across Tom's Dolly tutorial and decided to build one (see pictures below). I didn't go for absolute lowest cost. Instead I used an aluminium frame, trapezoidal rods, and mini-RAMBo 1.3a as a control board (all knock offs sourced from China).

The mini-RAMBo came pre-loaded with the latest Prusa MK2 firmware. My bed is an aluminum Chinese knockoff and while it's the same size and is painted to look like a MK42, it doesn't have the correct heat trace pattern or the calibration points (as far as I can tell). As such, I don't expect the XY calibration feature to work correctly. However, the mesh bed leveling should work fine as far as I understand it.

When I try to run bed leveling, it performs a check in the front left, performs a check in the front middle, then the problem happens. The extruder assembly travels too far to the right on the x-axis such that when it comes down, the inductive probe is off the bed and the part cooling fan shroud hits the print surface.

Given that all of my dimensions should be virtually the same as an actual MK2, what am I doing wrong?

I'm currently fiddling with flashing the board with some Marlin firmware, but I'd still like to understand why this is happening.

Any help would be appreciated.
Attachments
IMG_20181103_002347497.jpg
IMG_20181103_002347497.jpg (492.59 KiB) Viewed 362 times

Stefan

Re: Prusa i3 Clone Bed Leveling Issue

Post by Stefan » Sat Nov 03, 2018 7:48 am

Hi SMatthews95,