Does filament make a difference in dimensional accuracy?

Materials, Materials, Materials!
Post Reply
JustinF
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 2:25 pm

Does filament make a difference in dimensional accuracy?

Post by JustinF » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:26 pm

Does filament make a difference in dimensional accuracy? I used some cheaper filament and it seems to be about .2mm bigger on the prints overall dimensions. I'm trying to figure out if it's the settings in Cura or the filament. Thanks for any help.

ronka
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:00 am
Location: Holland

Re: Does filament make a difference in dimensional accuracy?

Post by ronka » Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:03 pm

Just measure the width of your filaments with a (digital)calliper;
my 1st filament was 1,6mm in stead of 1,75mm.. that value improved the constant underextrusion for me..

oakdesign
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:21 am

Re: Does filament make a difference in dimensional accuracy?

Post by oakdesign » Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:08 pm

I personally take at leest 20 measurement onthe first 10m of a new spool and take the mean of those measurements as the diameter I set u for that spool of material in the slicer

Regards Richard
Opa's bester Rat: Probieren geht über Studieren, Grandpas best advice: the proof of the pudding is in the eating

JustinF
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 2:25 pm

Re: Does filament make a difference in dimensional accuracy?

Post by JustinF » Wed Jul 12, 2017 12:14 am

Thanks for the answers, does over extrusion or under extrusion cause the part to be over in the overall dimensions of a part by .2mm? Say if I was going for 20mm wide and turns out to be 20.21mm instead. Thanks again.

mbuc
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:08 am

Re: Does filament make a difference in dimensional accuracy?

Post by mbuc » Tue Oct 10, 2017 1:00 am

JustinF wrote:
Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:26 pm
Does filament make a difference in dimensional accuracy? I used some cheaper filament and it seems to be about .2mm bigger on the prints overall dimensions. I'm trying to figure out if it's the settings in Cura or the filament. Thanks for any help.
It could but you would most likely see other signs of overextrusion, such as the nozzle dragging on already deposited filament, bulging layers, heavily overlapping lines, and as a result often a choppy thick first layer.

What printer are you using?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest