Extruder problem

Electronics, Components etc
Gwarden

Extruder problem

Post by Gwarden » Tue Sep 11, 2018 7:59 pm

I experienced some problems with my Rostock V2 when I blew a fuse due to shorting out the thermistor. I replaced it and I had problems with the hotend getting plugged, then the extruder stopped working. I ordered a new extruder motor and it still does not work.
-The 3 stepper motors on the tower work fine as does the fan control. I note that there is a flashing set?? of yellow LEDs marked T and R not sure what that means.

Any help?? Printer ran really well before this now I am getting frustrated.
Thanx
Dennis

Stefan

Re: Extruder problem

Post by Stefan » Wed Sep 12, 2018 1:24 am

Hi Dennis,

I'm not an expert on delta printers, but I hope I can help you get a good response to your questions. Specifically, what DOES the printer do and not do.
  • Blowing a fuse by shorting a thermistor is unlikely unless it is on its own low current circuit. A shorted thermistor would read high (or low) and cause firmware to turn the printer off due to thermal shutdown.
  • The hotend getting plugged can be caused by several conditions. Material in the nozzle, heat too low, PTFE tubing misaligned or melted. If your extruder also stopped working this could make it look like the extruder is clogged.
So, does the stepper spin? Does the extruder get hot? Does the thermistor provide a signal? Does the circuit with the fuse work? Knowing which parts operate and which don't will help identify the source of the trouble.

-Stefan

Gwarden

Post by Gwarden » Wed Sep 12, 2018 11:25 am

Hi Stefan.

The stepper does not spin at all, even when I ask it to spin. The hotend gets hot and comes up to temperature. This printer was seccond hand and the previous owner used aluminum tape to cover the wire joints, therefore the short, which blew the fuse. I have remove all aluminum tape and replaced it with Kapton tape.