Prusa i3 Power Supply

Electronics, Components etc
MattNewman
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 1:52 pm

Prusa i3 Power Supply

Post by MattNewman » Fri May 26, 2017 11:22 pm

I'm trying to do my own i3 clone build and wondering if it's possible to find a quality power supply that fits the Prusa power supply cover. I don't mind paying more for it, just would appreciate the covered mains terminals and not having to design my own cover.

Thanks,
Matt

Robin
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 22, 2017 2:36 pm

Re: Prusa i3 Power Supply

Post by Robin » Sat May 27, 2017 12:34 am

This one fits, and is currently powering my delta, including a heated bed.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/250W-12V-20A- ... 33beff5905
Not sure on the quality on all units, but at least it will give you a starting point to look for.

MattNewman
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 1:52 pm

Re: Prusa i3 Power Supply

Post by MattNewman » Sat May 27, 2017 2:45 pm

Thanks! That is helpful

-Matt

jwg3
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 6:39 am

Re: Prusa i3 Power Supply

Post by jwg3 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 8:01 am

For a power supply I suggest going with a known brand of known quality. $50 will get you a Mean Well, and eliminate worries about reliable power and safety. There are a couple of youtube videos that explain Mean Well build quality, and several that take to task less worthy supplies.

I use this model in my Prusia clone, NES-350-12 12V @ 29A. It replaces the no-name stock supply that came with the kit. I run everything including the heated bed from it. Here's a simple cover I printed to cover up the connections. Fits 12 or 24 volt version of this supply.

Btw, my controller is a MiniRambo which replaces what I consider to be an inferior clone RAMPS/Arduino combination that came with the kit. I really hate the RAMPS, so I spent a little extra to get better reliability and safety. Nicely fused and features keyed connectors.

JWG

MattNewman
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 1:52 pm

Re: Prusa i3 Power Supply

Post by MattNewman » Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:38 pm

I've actually been looking at the NES-350-12 or doing the ATX computer power supply as I have a few known reliable ones laying around that would do the job. I was also going to go with the MiniRambo for the same reasons you did (though I need to replace a transmission now so it'll be while before I have printer money again)

-Matt

slippyr4
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:24 am

Re: Prusa i3 Power Supply

Post by slippyr4 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:33 pm

I modified the power supply cover SCAD so that it can work with pretty much any power supply. Unfortunately it's a bit too complex to put in customizer on thingiverse, but, if you can use a text editor it's pretty straightforward to make your own with my scad file.

PM me if you want the scad.
IMG_2884 (1).jpg
IMG_2884 (1).jpg (9.85 KiB) Viewed 4415 times
Self-built Prusa i3 MK2 clone
My things: https://www.thingiverse.com/slippyr4/designs
My Prusa firmware port for ramps & MKS : https://github.com/slippyr4/Prusa-Firmware

jwg3
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 6:39 am

Re: Prusa i3 Power Supply

Post by jwg3 » Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:17 pm

I forgot the link to the printable cover for the NES-350-12. Here it is.

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2083343

pwb29
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 11:13 am

Re: Prusa i3 Power Supply

Post by pwb29 » Sun May 27, 2018 12:25 pm

slippyr4 wrote:
Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:33 pm
I modified the power supply cover SCAD so that it can work with pretty much any power supply. Unfortunately it's a bit too complex to put in customizer on thingiverse, but, if you can use a text editor it's pretty straightforward to make your own with my scad file.

PM me if you want the scad.

My PSU cover
Hello, I am begining to make my Prusa Clone a I have a J240-12 power supply. The base is 100mmx41mm, do you thing your case will fit ?
Is the power plug and switch holes are the same that the original?

Stefan
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:46 am

Re: Prusa i3 Power Supply

Post by Stefan » Mon May 28, 2018 8:57 pm

Heya pwb29,

I have an .stl for a 41x100 PSU. It is meant to work with a 18mm thick frame, though. Keep in mind that if you are using anything besides the original frame thickness of 6mm the PSU case may have to be modified for that.

-Stefan

pwb29
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 11:13 am

Re: Prusa i3 Power Supply

Post by pwb29 » Tue May 29, 2018 11:35 am

Hello, thank's for the reply. 8-)
Is it possible to send me the file by PM , I am new on this forum and have to wait a little to ask by PM ?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests