RAMPS, TMC2130s, and LCD

Electronics, Components etc
MattNewman
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 1:52 pm

RAMPS, TMC2130s, and LCD

Post by MattNewman » Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:03 pm

Has anyone documented how to use RAMPS with TMC2130s and an LCD yet?

Thanks,
Matt

MattNewman
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 1:52 pm

Re: RAMPS, TMC2130s, and LCD

Post by MattNewman » Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:39 am

If anyone was wondering or stumbles on this later I reassigned the CS pins for X (X_CS_PIN) and Y (Y_CS_PIN) to land on AUX 2 instead, then moved the female connector from the LCD PCB and put it on the RAMPS board itself and put long through male headers on the LCD PCB so I could plug the stepper SPI pins on top. I'll post a picture once I'm done

SpeedGP
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:18 am

Re: RAMPS, TMC2130s, and LCD

Post by SpeedGP » Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:58 am

Sorta like.... this?

Image

I just soldered the SPI pins on top of the existing solder points.. not the best idea, but it'll do for now. What pins did you map your X and Y pins too, 40,42?

Let me know if you have any issues, mine's been stalling on the second layer (on any print).

Reaction_Time
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:14 am

Re: RAMPS, TMC2130s, and LCD

Post by Reaction_Time » Wed Dec 20, 2017 9:06 pm

Following, how'd you know what pins to use for CS?

s0ftcorn
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2017 6:03 pm

Re: RAMPS, TMC2130s, and LCD

Post by s0ftcorn » Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:02 am

You can basically use any PIN thats free for CS. A10 and D44 on the AUX2 connector are nice candidates.
You can use this to find some suitable pins for your setup.

Reaction_Time
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:14 am

Re: RAMPS, TMC2130s, and LCD

Post by Reaction_Time » Thu Dec 21, 2017 11:55 am

Anything in particular that make those two pins better than the others? Any pin on Aux-2 is usable, right?

MattNewman
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 1:52 pm

Re: RAMPS, TMC2130s, and LCD

Post by MattNewman » Thu Dec 21, 2017 1:12 pm

@SpeedGP basically yes, but my plan was to desolder the aux3 connector on the ramps and the LCD so I could put these extra long ones from a stacking arduino shield so it'd be a little cleaner. That ended up not working because the ramps started falling apart while desoldering (one of the SPI pins traces detached from the board) so I'm waiting on a new board to arrive to finish up.

New plan is to use a stacking arduino mega proto board between the mega and the ramps and just running the TMC2130s SPI pins to connectors on it.

As already mentioned you can use any digital pin for CS, I'm just going to arrange them on Aux 2 in a single row so I can put them into a 4 pin dupont connector.

kfazz
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 12:00 am

Re: RAMPS, TMC2130s, and LCD

Post by kfazz » Thu Dec 21, 2017 3:40 pm

How are you all wiring the diag pins? Looks like stock Marlin uses diag1, and prusa's einsy board uses diag0 and diag1 soldered together. Has anyone looked into the init code from MK3 branch? I know the two diagonal pins share 80% functionality, but iirc diagonal 0 can trip on over temp prewarn and diag1 trips on stall. Maybe solder both to an interrupt capable pin and read the registers in the handler?

slippyr4
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:24 am

Re: RAMPS, TMC2130s, and LCD

Post by slippyr4 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:12 am

Yep that’s exactly what prusa are doing.
Self-built Prusa i3 MK2 clone
My things: https://www.thingiverse.com/slippyr4/designs
My Prusa firmware port for ramps & MKS : https://github.com/slippyr4/Prusa-Firmware

SpeedGP
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:18 am

Re: RAMPS, TMC2130s, and LCD

Post by SpeedGP » Fri Dec 22, 2017 6:26 pm

Yeah, cleaner would be nice, but I didn't know how sold on these I would be (sssssoooooooo sold now! They are awesome!!!)

I'm still having problems with the cooling fan kicking on. If it's not off or at full, then the printer prints at like 1mm/s... Pretty odd. Also, I noticed if I let the printer sit for awhile the motors won't respond anymore until a complete printer reboot.

I do need to rebuild at some point... Maybe I'll tidy it up then

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests