Auto home does not take hotbed back

Have an issue you can't figure out on your own?
kraut55

Auto home does not take hotbed back

Post by kraut55 » Fri May 11, 2018 12:55 pm

Hi,
I am a newbie to 3d-printing. I built a Prusa Mk2 clone (made by CTC) and am slowly trying to get the hang of it.
A few days ago a small problem started. Whenever I do an "Auto home" only the extruder assembly returns to the origin. The hotbed stays where it is and I have to manually push it back.

Stefan

Re: Auto home does not take hotbed back

Post by Stefan » Fri May 11, 2018 9:28 pm

Hi kraut55,

Welcome to the forum. Post your config.h. Does the y-axis move with commands or during printing?

-S

kraut55

Post by kraut55 » Sat May 12, 2018 12:21 pm

Hi Stefan,
thank you for the welcome and your fast replay.
Config do you mean the slicer's config? If so, there are so many parameters. Which ones would you need?
As mentioned I am a beginner so there is no g-code that I would send directly to the printer. I usually grab an stl-file, have the slicer do its work, save it to the SD card and insert the card into the printer.
During printing the y-axis moves just fine.
Tks.

Stefan

Post by Stefan » Sun May 13, 2018 3:40 am

Hi kraut55,

I'm referring to a file in your firmware (I'm assuming you are using Marlin). The config.h tells the printer all of the physical parameters of your machine, including how long your y-axis is, where it starts, and where it ends. I have a suspicion they may not be properly configured.

-S

kraut55

Post by kraut55 » Wed May 16, 2018 5:58 pm

Will try to find out how I can access the firmware and will let you know.

kraut55

Post by kraut55 » Wed May 23, 2018 12:33 pm

The LCD does not show any information which firmware/version it uses and the included manual advises not to upgrade the firmware. The board is a 2560 Rev A. Can that be used with different kinds of firmware or is there a dedicated firmware? Sorry but you can see I am completely new to 3d printing.