help getting the motors moving

Have an issue you can't figure out on your own?
User avatar
Dik
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 10:50 am

Re: help getting the motors moving

Post by Dik » Wed Jul 18, 2018 3:53 pm

I think that could produce at least some of the problems.
Sells Mendel and Prusa i3 Mk3 Kit built and working great.
Things not 3DP related:
Blog
YouTube
SketchUp Models

Stefan
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:46 am

Re: help getting the motors moving

Post by Stefan » Wed Jul 18, 2018 5:34 pm

Oh! Yes, definitely a clearance issue. So, either the z-axis rods are too far to the right (facing the front) or as you mentioned, the frame is too wide. You should have at least a centimeter gap.

-Stefan
IMG_0567.JPG
IMG_0567.JPG (112.04 KiB) Viewed 233 times

Sagirokach
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:32 am

Re: help getting the motors moving

Post by Sagirokach » Wed Jul 18, 2018 9:02 pm

yeah it's too wide.... :cry:

I'll fix it soon and I'll let you know if it helped.... if not I'll be happy to get more guidance.

I hope to do it over the weekend and I'll let you know.
Thank you for sharing this frustrating road. lol.

Sagirokach
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:32 am

Re: help getting the motors moving

Post by Sagirokach » Sun Jul 22, 2018 7:57 am

ok I started working on narrowing the frame, now the belt is not lost it's tension. so I'll fix that and I'll see if it will work, but I'll have the time only in few days. :(

So wanted this to already work...

Thank you for staying with me tho.

Sagirokach
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:32 am

Re: help getting the motors moving

Post by Sagirokach » Tue Jul 24, 2018 5:57 pm

ok so it appears to be working.... at least it looks like it's working....

now I've got another problem, maybe you'll be able to point me to the right direction....

When I start the z axis, one of them is moving in the wrong direction for the first time and then it's going right... and it changes all the time.... anything I can check or make sure to get this to work properly?

The X axis is loose so I'll need to adjust the temsion but the belt is moving freely now (besides the skipping steps cause of the loose belt).

if you can help me with the problems it'll be great!
Thanks in advance.

Stefan
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:46 am

Re: help getting the motors moving

Post by Stefan » Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:18 pm

Told you we'd make progress!

Not quite sure what to make of the flip-flopping motor. Usual suspect: loose wire (especially at the crimps)? Have you swapped motors to see if one specifically is misbehaving? I don't think there is anything in the firmware that would cause it. Also, since you had strange behaviors before, what happens if you try to move the z-axis directly from the printer (opposed to Octoprint?).

Keep us posted.

-Stefan

Sagirokach
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:32 am

Re: help getting the motors moving

Post by Sagirokach » Wed Jul 25, 2018 4:43 am

YES! :) and thank you for sticking with me through the process.

About the motors I'll try swapping the motors although I checked continuity of the wires and they appear to be good... I'll check them again just to make sure.

And all the movements are being done from the printer, after I'll know everything is working from the printer I'll move to the octoprint.

I'll check the wiring again and I'll try swapping the motors and I'll let you know.

Thanks.

Sagirokach
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:32 am

Re: help getting the motors moving

Post by Sagirokach » Tue Aug 07, 2018 6:03 pm

ok so it took longer than I expected but today I had the time to check the wiring and everything is great with the continuity test, I'll continue the check but it doesn't look like the wiring...

Any other options to try?

Stefan
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:46 am

Re: help getting the motors moving

Post by Stefan » Wed Aug 08, 2018 12:36 am

What happens if you only have one z-motor connected?

Sagirokach
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 10:32 am

Re: help getting the motors moving

Post by Sagirokach » Wed Aug 08, 2018 6:12 am

I actually checked the Y axis since it's going the smoothest of the axes when the motors aren't engaged. I checked the connections from the motor to the Ramps and the continuity check showed the connection was excellent. when I tried moving it, the bed moves erratically..

if I'll solve the Y axis I'll understand how to solve the other axes.

so anything else I should try?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest