Prusa firmware for RAMPS Prusa i3 clones with MK42 beds

3D Modelling, Slicing, Hosts and Management
User avatar
peter.bistricky
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 12:35 pm

Re: Prusa firmware for RAMPS Prusa i3 clones with MK42 beds

Post by peter.bistricky » Sun Oct 08, 2017 1:56 pm

WORKS! (after over a week fiddling with it at nights)

So as i have 5 original MK2s at work, ive been interested in new RC FW with linear advance, whats your take on it slippyr4? Ar you gonna port it as well?

slippyr4
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:24 am

Re: Prusa firmware for RAMPS Prusa i3 clones with MK42 beds

Post by slippyr4 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 2:02 pm

Try it out: there’s a branch for it in the same repository on GitHub (it’s a merge from the community mod, and not the beta release of the next firmware)
Self-built Prusa i3 MK2 clone
My things: https://www.thingiverse.com/slippyr4/designs
My Prusa firmware port for ramps & MKS : https://github.com/slippyr4/Prusa-Firmware

IanC
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:55 pm

Re: Prusa firmware for RAMPS Prusa i3 clones with MK42 beds

Post by IanC » Sun Oct 08, 2017 2:10 pm

Thanks for adding the LIN_Advance version - I tried to have a go at compiling it myself a few days ago, but I'm quite unfamiliar with how GitHub works, so don't know if I merged the correct parts. I'll use your LIN_Advance version instead!
Last edited by IanC on Sun Oct 08, 2017 3:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
peter.bistricky
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 12:35 pm

Re: Prusa firmware for RAMPS Prusa i3 clones with MK42 beds

Post by peter.bistricky » Sun Oct 08, 2017 3:20 pm

So this one? https://github.com/slippyr4/Prusa-Firmw ... munity_Mod is adjusted for RAMPS right?
Perfect, ill try that one! (also not so skilled with github)

slippyr4
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:24 am

Re: Prusa firmware for RAMPS Prusa i3 clones with MK42 beds

Post by slippyr4 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 3:53 pm

Yep that’s it. Try getting sourcetree: you can clone the main repository and easily switch branches to this one or my other ones, and one button (pull) will update to newer versions in the future.
Self-built Prusa i3 MK2 clone
My things: https://www.thingiverse.com/slippyr4/designs
My Prusa firmware port for ramps & MKS : https://github.com/slippyr4/Prusa-Firmware

IanC
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2017 11:55 pm

Re: Prusa firmware for RAMPS Prusa i3 clones with MK42 beds

Post by IanC » Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:32 pm

Cheers, I'll check out sourcetree now :).

akku3D
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:54 am

Re: Prusa firmware for RAMPS Prusa i3 clones with MK42 beds

Post by akku3D » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:03 am

Hello,

I have a few questions about the firmware.
configuration_prusa.h, AXIS SETTINGS has two lines for the steps per unit.
What is the difference between the two lines?
What does SNMM mean?
Why is the Z-steps divided by 8?


AXIS SETTINGS
*------------------------------------*/

// Steps per unit {X,Y,Z,E}
#ifdef SNMM
#define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT {100,100,3200/8,140}
#else
#define DEFAULT_AXIS_STEPS_PER_UNIT {100,100,3200/8,161.3}
#endif

slippyr4
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:24 am

Re: Prusa firmware for RAMPS Prusa i3 clones with MK42 beds

Post by slippyr4 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:29 am

akku3D wrote:
Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:03 am
What does SNMM mean?
SNMM == Single Nozzle, Multi Material => the MM upgrade. It's not defined in this build though, so the relevant line is the second one...
akku3D wrote:
Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:03 am
Why is the Z-steps divided by 8?
I don't know why they did that. It makes no difference though; the compiler preprocessor will substitute the value 400.
Self-built Prusa i3 MK2 clone
My things: https://www.thingiverse.com/slippyr4/designs
My Prusa firmware port for ramps & MKS : https://github.com/slippyr4/Prusa-Firmware

akku3D
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 9:54 am

Re: Prusa firmware for RAMPS Prusa i3 clones with MK42 beds

Post by akku3D » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:42 am

my clone will have a m5 threaded rod in z.
What value do I then have to register as z-step?
I would have entered 4000. But that is certainly not right.

slippyr4
Posts: 224
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:24 am

Re: Prusa firmware for RAMPS Prusa i3 clones with MK42 beds

Post by slippyr4 » Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:44 am

akku3D wrote:
Mon Oct 09, 2017 10:42 am
my clone will have a m5 threaded rod in z.
What value do I then have to register as z-step?
I would have entered 4000. But that is certainly not right.
Depends on your microstepping. See http://www.prusaprinters.org/calculator/#stepspermmlead - in short, it's whatever you'd use in marlin, nothing special about prusa firmware here.
Self-built Prusa i3 MK2 clone
My things: https://www.thingiverse.com/slippyr4/designs
My Prusa firmware port for ramps & MKS : https://github.com/slippyr4/Prusa-Firmware

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest