Problem with ATX PSU for RAMPS 1.4 with Heated Bed

Electronics, Components etc
Saftdraft
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:12 pm

Problem with ATX PSU for RAMPS 1.4 with Heated Bed

Post by Saftdraft » Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:13 am

Hello,

I've purchased a Ramps 1.4 + Arduino mega + heatbed MK2B Bundle from aliexpress and am trying to get it to work. First I used a "Led PSU" which could barely power the setup (it was a weak one, just for testing). Then I took an ATX PSU and did the necessary preparations according to this guide: https://reprap.org/wiki/Choosing_a_Powe ... our_RepRap . Now I have everything hooked up and am using the +5V 1.0-30A and +12V1 0.5-19A configuration. Problem is, that when I plug it in the RAMPS 1.4 connector, it turns on and everything lights up, but as soon as I want to draw power to heat the heatbed up, it shuts down, the entire PSU. Then after a few minutes, I can turn it back on again, but as soon as I want to draw power again, it immediately turns off. Since my skills with electronics are very limited, I was hoping that any of you could help me troubleshoot my issue and help resolve it.

Many Thanks in advance!

Here are Images of my PSU and the cables I've soldered to:
The attachment 20180725_110120.jpg is no longer available
The attachment 20180725_110120.jpg is no longer available
The attachment 20180725_110120.jpg is no longer available
Attachments
20180725_110120.jpg
20180725_110120.jpg (2.82 MiB) Viewed 2187 times
20180725_110111.jpg
20180725_110111.jpg (3.01 MiB) Viewed 2187 times

Stefan
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:46 am

Re: Problem with ATX PSU for RAMPS 1.4 with Heated Bed

Post by Stefan » Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:29 pm

Hi Sd,

I'd really want to see where those leads from your PSU plug into the RAMPS. The RAMPS wants two 12V connections, providing a combined minimum 20A rating. What it sounds like is happening is you are providing 5V (which is what a USB connector might send). This will power the electronics just fine. As soon as you turn on the heatbed, you are demanding an additional 20A at 12V. If you don't have that, the RAMPS trips its polyfuse(s) and shuts down until the fuse cools and resets.

So, make sure you are providing the necessary voltage and current to the two sets of power blocks on the RAMPS.

-Stefan
Last edited by Stefan on Wed Jul 25, 2018 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Moorviper
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 1:19 pm
Location: Hessen/Rhön - Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with ATX PSU for RAMPS 1.4 with Heated Bed

Post by Moorviper » Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:29 pm

the rams itself needs 5-6 A (the right side of the connector)
the rest should be 14-15 A

the main problem is that the atx psu doesn't provide the 15A on one single rail but on maybe 3 or 4.
You have to combine them.

Saftdraft
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:12 pm

Re: Problem with ATX PSU for RAMPS 1.4 with Heated Bed

Post by Saftdraft » Thu Jul 26, 2018 9:13 am

Stefan wrote:
Wed Jul 25, 2018 7:29 pm
Hi Sd,

I'd really want to see where those leads from your PSU plug into the RAMPS. The RAMPS wants two 12V connections, providing a combined minimum 20A rating. What it sounds like is happening is you are providing 5V (which is what a USB connector might send). This will power the electronics just fine. As soon as you turn on the heatbed, you are demanding an additional 20A at 12V. If you don't have that, the RAMPS trips its polyfuse(s) and shuts down until the fuse cools and resets.

So, make sure you are providing the necessary voltage and current to the two sets of power blocks on the RAMPS.

-Stefan
Dear Stefan,

My 5V line is (afaik) connected to the socket labelled "PS" which I guess stands for power supply. The 12V line is connected to the second socket.
But if the Ramps trips its fuse, my PSU shouldn't lose power as well, right? The thing is, the PSU shuts down as well...
20180726_090705.jpg
(Heatbed is currently not plugged in)
20180726_090705.jpg (2.74 MiB) Viewed 2171 times
thank you.

-Saftdraft

Saftdraft
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:12 pm

Re: Problem with ATX PSU for RAMPS 1.4 with Heated Bed

Post by Saftdraft » Thu Jul 26, 2018 9:19 am

Moorviper wrote:
Wed Jul 25, 2018 9:29 pm
the rams itself needs 5-6 A (the right side of the connector)
the rest should be 14-15 A

the main problem is that the atx psu doesn't provide the 15A on one single rail but on maybe 3 or 4.
You have to combine them.
Dear Moorviper,

According to my PSU's capabilities, I have the following options available:
20180725_110102[1].jpg
20180725_110102[1].jpg (2.47 MiB) Viewed 2170 times
and you suggest, I add another combination or two, to get to the required Power output. (how do I know I won't fry my electronics?)

Thanks in advance,

-Saftdraft

Stefan
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:46 am

Re: Problem with ATX PSU for RAMPS 1.4 with Heated Bed

Post by Stefan » Thu Jul 26, 2018 11:50 pm

Hi SD,

I think Moorviper and I are converging on the same explanation. It is most likely that you are not providing the RAMPS with enough current. The power supply will probably cut off if you are putting too high a demand on it (a good thing, as it will protect itself). Triple check how much current is being sent to the RAMPS under load.

-Stefan

Saftdraft
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 7:12 pm

Re: Problem with ATX PSU for RAMPS 1.4 with Heated Bed

Post by Saftdraft » Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:44 am

Stefan wrote:
Thu Jul 26, 2018 11:50 pm
Hi SD,

I think Moorviper and I are converging on the same explanation. It is most likely that you are not providing the RAMPS with enough current. The power supply will probably cut off if you are putting too high a demand on it (a good thing, as it will protect itself). Triple check how much current is being sent to the RAMPS under load.

-Stefan
Thank you Stefan, I will check and will of course let you guys know asap!

Many thanks to you too, Moorviper!

oakdesign
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 10:21 am

Re: Problem with ATX PSU for RAMPS 1.4 with Heated Bed

Post by oakdesign » Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:18 pm

Is your ATX labeld Haswell compatible or Haswell ready. If not and by your issue description shut down as soon as a higher load is drawn you might have issue with an unbalanced 12V rail. Especially an issue with older ATX pre 2014
https://reprap.org/wiki/Balancing_ATX_Supplies
Regard Richard
Opa's bester Rat: Probieren geht über Studieren, Grandpas best advice: the proof of the pudding is in the eating

User avatar
Moorviper
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 1:19 pm
Location: Hessen/Rhön - Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with ATX PSU for RAMPS 1.4 with Heated Bed

Post by Moorviper » Fri Jul 27, 2018 2:26 pm

Sometimes the heatbeds are out of specs my mk3 bed should draw around 200w and it draws 350-360w to much for my 12v 20A power supply.

Now the printer is running full with 24v and the supply can deliver 420w which is just a little to small but it works

Stefan
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 12:46 am

Re: Problem with ATX PSU for RAMPS 1.4 with Heated Bed

Post by Stefan » Fri Jul 27, 2018 8:48 pm

Moorviper wrote:
Fri Jul 27, 2018 2:26 pm
Sometimes the heatbeds are out of specs my mk3 bed should draw around 200w and it draws 350-360w to much for my 12v 20A power supply.
Ugg, I forgot about that. Absolutely right. Check the resistance (ohms) of your heatbed. The RAMPS doesn't want to go over 10-11 amps, which means that your bed needs to have a resistance of about 1.5 ohms. (MV, check my math!)

-Stefan

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests