Page 1 of 1

Ramps1.4 or Ramps1.5 or ramps 1.6???

Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 3:51 pm
by joseben
Hi, guys I about to build a Prusa i3 dolly. I am confused whether to use ramps 1.4 or 1.5 or 1.6. Whats the big difference?is it only on the MOSFETs and the poly-fuses?
Or should I upgrade a ramps 1.4 board(replacing the MOSFETs, connectors, and fuses)?

Re: Ramps1.4 or Ramps1.5 or ramps 1.6???

Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 7:20 pm
by slippyr4
Use an mks gen instead.

Re: Ramps1.4 or Ramps1.5 or ramps 1.6???

Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2018 10:47 pm
by Moorviper
I have ordered a ramps 1.6 a week ago.
it is definitely better than the 1.4 or 1.5.

Compared to the MKS gen you could easily go with 12v for electronics and 24v for the heatbed if you wish.

on the mis gen there is an second connector but not soldered, doesn't know f it is possible there.

if you want to use 2 stepper motors for the z axis what the dolly has you don't need a adapter to connect 2 motor at the same time.

the combo with the Arduino + ramps 1.6 should now have no downsides anymore.
And it is maybe cheaper.

Re: Ramps1.4 or Ramps1.5 or ramps 1.6???

Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 6:17 pm
by Moorviper
OK the ramps 1.6 can only handle 12v OR 24V